Pie #12- Chocolate Chess Pie

Standard

It is time to get started on these pies again!  It has been a crazy season with traveling for grad school, youth ministry, traveling for family things, my parents being in town, trying to have a life, and baking pies for all sorts of events!

This past weekend, one of my sweet former youth groupers had a big send-off party as he heads off to boot camp.  I’m so proud of all of my graduates and I’m praying and praying for Brian and his family.  His mom asked me to take care of the pies for the star-spangled event and I was happy to oblige.  And while I was whipping out six pies for the Saturday afternoon party, I decided I’d surprise the hubby with a pie of his own.

 Image

When he came home from work on Thursday, the conversation went something like this:

Seth: I thought you were baking for the party tomorrow?
Me: I am.
Seth: Then what is this pie for?
Me: It’s for us.
Seth: To eat?
Me: ……… Yessss…. (*What else would we do with it?*)
Seth:  I’m going to kiss you.

This Chocolate Chess Pie made my hubs a little bit happy.  And between the two of us, it was gone in three days.

This pie is INCREDIBLY easy to make and oh my goodness its ooey gooey center with its crunchy sugary top is just too good to pass up.  It’s perfect straight out of the oven (after it’s cooled for a few minutes) or you can refrigerate it and pop a slice in the microwave for a few seconds.  Or, if you’re my husband, you can eat it straight out of the pan.

Image

I found this recipe here, although I had to modify the cooking time; it took closer to 50 minutes for the center to set.  It’s hard to tell when it’s cooked through because of the crust that forms so I had to mar its beautiful top with a toothpick… next time I’ll have the cooking time down!

The crust I used is the same crust from my Chocolate Chocolate Cream Pie.

Adapted from- A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock n’ RollImage

Filling-

1 stick unsalted butter
1 (1 ounce) square unsweetened chocolate (or 3 tablespoons cocoa)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions:
Melt the butter and chocolate together in a sauce pan.  Pour into a bowl and whisk together with the sugar, eggs, vanilla and salt.  When the crust has cooled for 20 minutes, pour the filling into the crust and bake in a 325 degrees F. oven for about 40 minutes, until the top is set (you can lightly press and see how firm it is, but you may crack the top!).

**Top with whip cream or a dusting of powdered sugar.  (optional)

Get ready for a flurry of pies in the next few weeks: this is pie #12 and I need 13 more before I turn 26!  Thirteen pies in twelve weeks… we can do this.

And I’m still selling pies like crazy!  I’ll have all sorts of yummy warm fall pies coming out in the next few weeks.  Contact me at twentyfivepies@gmail.com or click here to place your order.  You can order a Chocolate Chess Pie for your Halloween/Thanksgiving/Fall Party for $20!

Leave a Reply

