Pie #8- Peach Pie

Standard

Last Thursday was our annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner.  Jim and I have some incredible volunteers that invest in the lives of our students all year.  There’s no way that a dinner could come close to thanking our volunteers for the incredible Kingdom work that they do, but we gave it a try.  For the second year I volunteered my pie-making abilities since Stacy basically does everything else.  Unfortunately, I didn’t really take into consideration my crazy pre-summer schedule so I ended up speed-baking four pies in just under two hours (featuring S’mores Pie and Gram’s Sweet Strawberry Pie)

Image

Seth kindly pointed out that mass-baking under pressure should be pie-shop-owning-101… and I made it happen with only minor casualties…

Image 2

My kitchen looked a lot like I mugged some Kebler Elves.

I tried out a Peach Pie recipe to go along with my old faithfuls.  I made this pie last year for our volunteers so I was excited to give it another try!  I went with a new crust recipe also.  This recipe didn’t require any chilling so it was great in a time crunch.

Without further ado:

Quick Crust

Ingredients:
For the crust:
2 cups of flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup canola oil
1/4 cup milk

Combine the wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately then slowly combine.  You may need to add more milk if it seems dry.  Form the dough into two balls.

Peach Pie (adapted from Homesick Texan)peachpie

1 quart (4 cups) of peeled and sliced peaches, uncooked (I used frozen peaches and they were great!)
1/4 cup + 3 tbsp sugar
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
5 tablespoons of butter, sliced
1 tablespoon of flour

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Roll out one crust ball out between two sheets of wax paper, and line a pie pan with crust.
Roll out other ball and set aside.
Add to crust-lined pie pan the peaches.
Sprinkle on top 1/4 cup of sugar, cinnamon and flour.
Add slices of butter.
Take other rolled-out crust, and lay it on top of the pie, crimping and sealing the edges.
Sprinkle 3 tablespoons of sugar on top of pie, and poke holes in top crust with a fork.
Bake in oven for about an hour, or until crust is golden and pie is bubbling.

 

 

Leave a Reply

