Pie #3- S’mores Pie

Standard

My poor husband has not been super thrilled with the idea of all of these pies walking out of our house untasted.  So when I found this recipe that resulted in not one, but TWO pies… we  were both pretty excited.  And oh my is it a good thing it made two… this pie is, according to my super-picky hubby, the BEST pie I have ever made.  Incredible pie, that makes two pies, that’s super easy?  WINNER.

So I would like to introduce you to S’Mores Pie.

smores

Isn’t it beautiful?  I knew that if I were going to tackle a S’mores pie I had to do it right.  So as soon as I read “two graham cracker pie shells” I was determined not to buy those little tasteless things at the grocery store.  Those pre-made things have their place, but I needed some legit graham cracker flavor.  However, you might be wondering, “Jenna, how can you make two graham cracker pie crusts without a food processor?”  Well, you don’t! Instead you marry a precious man who surprises you with this little Valentine:

Image 2

Cuisinart 11-cup Prep Plus Food Processor… true love.  With the help of this handy dandy tool my crusts were super easy and way better than those pre-made babies.

My only dilemma with this pie was the fact that I had NO clue who to give the second one to.  I had a feeling that I was missing the obvious with who needed a little pie-lovin’ so I just hung out and waited for a little clarity.  The clarity came Tuesday during our weekly staff lunch.  Staff lunch is my favorite part of my work week… I just love the people I work with!  The only downfall to staff lunch is the fact that I work with a bunch of boys, and any time we walk into a restaurant with ESPN blaring on a big screen, I know I’m in trouble.  So, we walked into Central BBQ on Tuesday and were promptly seated RIGHT in front of an ESPN special on Michael Jordan… game over.  But the Lord provides, and for two and a half years of staff lunch, I have had a faithful sweet friend who has been my savior from the boys’ club.

Image 1

Elizabeth Patterson is our children’s minister and the only other woman minister on staff.  So whenever the boys are being boys (which is quite often) Elizabeth and I can quickly transition to conversations of Pinterest.  She was my place to vent while wedding planning and my comrade during our move last fall.  She’s taught me that it is in fact possible to be a full-time minister and an incredible wife and mother.  She’s loved my youth group girls since they were babies and we’ve mourned their hurts and celebrated their successes together. She is one of my very dearest friends and I am so thankful to get to serve on staff with her.

Poor Elizabeth was doing some kind of crazy cleanse when Peanut Butter Thank You Pie came to the office and she made it QUITE clear that I owed her one.  That, combined with the fact that her hubby’s birthday was Thursday, made her the perfect pie recipient.  SO, Miss Elizabeth, I hope you enjoyed your pie 🙂

So here we are,  I’ll start with the recipe I used for the graham cracker crusts:

Graham Cracker Crust– makes 2 pie shells

  • 3 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used a little less since I didn’t want cinnamon s’mores!)

To get 3 cups of crumbs you need about a sleeve-and-a-half of graham crackers.  Break the crackers up a little then pulse in your super exciting new food processor until the crumbs are fine.  Add in the sugar, butter, and a dash of cinnamon and pulse until combined.  Simply press the crumbs into two pie pans and bake at 375 for 5-7 minutes (until they look a little toasted).  You can skip the baking if the pie filling requires baking.

World’s Best S’Mores Pie– adapted from Eat2Gather

S’more Pie
makes 2 9″ pies
2 Graham Cracker Crusts made aboce
2 cups Sugar
1/2 cup Flour
2/3 cup Cocoa
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 Eggs
4 cups Whole Milk
2 teaspoons Vanilla
1 7 ounce jar Marshmallow Creme
30 large Marshmallows, cut in half

  1. Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, and salt in a bowl. Make sure the cocoa lumps are broken up.
  2. In a large microwavable bowl whisk together milk, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. Add dry ingredients to wet, whisk until your arm falls off and there are no lumps.
  4. Place bowl in microwave heat on high for 2 minutes, remove and whisk. Repeat this step 6 times, or until pudding is thick and creamy.  Be careful not to over cook.
  5. Pour chocolate pudding evenly into pie crusts, allow to cool completely. Place in refrigerator for 1 hour.
  6. Warm marshmallow creme in microwave for about 10 seconds- VERY CAREFULLY, divide and spread over each pie.
  7. Place halved marshmallows on top of pies, place under the broiler until marshmallows are perfectly toasted!  It only takes a few minutes and you don’t want them to catch on fire!

The pie is tricky to cut- try warming up your knife under hot water to get through the gooey marshmallows.

Enjoy!

Image 3

P.S.- A VERY SPECIAL 25 PIES ANNOUNCEMENT IS COMING THIS WEEK…

STAY TUNED!

3 thoughts on “Pie #3- S’mores Pie

Leave a Reply

