The 25 Pies

Standard

Welcome to my New Year’s Resolution.

But really…

For the past few years, I have (jokingly?) told people that my dream is to one day open my very own pie shop.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love my job, but if one day the Lord releases me from my call to ministry, I think pies sound like a pretty awesome plan B.

I love to bake and I especially love the beauty, order, and simplicity of a pie: a little package of goodness wrapped up in a crust.

So for 2013, I’m taking this dream of mine a little more seriously by committing myself to make pies, 25 of them to be exact, one for each year of my quarter-century life.  This will come out to about one pie every other week; hopefully manageable in my crazy busy schedule.

I’m not sure exactly where this will go but I am excited to test out family recipes, cookbook favorites, and Pinterest experiments and I’m even more excited to share these pies with all sorts of people (because no one needs to eat 25 pies in one year).  Check out the “About” tab to see my dream list of pie plans and recipients.

Check back tomorrow (time willing) for Pie #1- Skillet Berry Pie and the debut of my grandmother’s cast iron skillet in my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

